Former Savage Owner
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Computing in 2023
Reply #76 - 09/07/23 at 10:07:03

IDK how many years it has been since I had a tower, but probably around 15. The Kindle is all I Have to have. I miss seeing pictures big enough to actually see. I am absolutely blown away by the tech of today. My wife's cell phone has more capability, excluding the phone and camera, set those aside, and the cell phone can access information in so many ways, it's amazing. Now add back the camera,, consider the quality, and realize That fits in your pocket. And who doesn't remember The Brick? The first commercial Portable phone.. It was the size of a purse.
And Now all of that technology is available to everyone. And it fits in a pocket.

So, computing today? I have zero knowledge of Just what kind of leaps have been made in the years since I stopped messing with them. I knew a guy who was all in on AMD processors and was building overclocked and water cooled towers for competition and got to listen to him, but technology moves fast.
IDK what the RAM installed in the average home unit would be, or hard drive capacity.
I'm sure it's all about like the difference between the Wright flyer and an F 16.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
J Mac

Laissez Les Bon
Temps Roulez

Louisiana, USA
Reply #77 - 09/10/23 at 21:00:37