Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 8
Send Topic Print
Ideas for Next Group Ride (Read 5 times)
Karen627
Ex Member

Re: Ideas for Next Group Ride
Reply #15 - 07/14/05 at 01:24:24

Deb, if the Tail of the Dragon ride happens, I don't think it's that far from you.  It's a stretch of US 129 at the TN/NC state line -- might be about an hour and a half away from Knoxville, if even that far...?

Of course, not far from the TotD is the Cherohala Skyway, if anyone's interested in doing that along with/instead of the TotD?  That looks like a really pretty ride.

IP Logged
marke2571
2004 No Login

Free Spec Ops
Cody!!!!

Georgia
Reply #16 - 07/14/05 at 09:37:32

Karen,

I am no expert either. I am a little intimidated about the Tail as well, but I heard it was a BLAST from my brother (he rides a 2004 Suz Volusia). I would love ANY ride ANYWHERE. Maybe we could meet up one day and ride. Just let me know.

--Mark

'02 Silver Savage
Macon, Ga.
  IP Logged
LANCER
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Savage Beast
Performance Parts

Oklahoma
Reply #17 - 07/14/05 at 16:05:04

Karen627 wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:07:
Lancer, you're only about an hour away from my aunt.  She's in Batesburg-Leesville.  

All right, ya know what?  I'm starting to think that I'm always going to be intimidated by the Tail of the Dragon -- that is, until I actually ride it for myself.  So I may very well take a whack at it, if the GA/SC group ride comes together and that's where folks want to go.  

One last question about the TotD -- am I guaranteed to scrape the footpegs on those curves, or do I have to take the curves pretty hard to do that?  (I've only done it once so far, in a really tight u-turn -- by accident.  Roll Eyes )