Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
New Member - A Few questions (Read 324 times)
Jstat
YaBB Newbies

What a long strange
trip it's been.

St. Louie
New Member - A Few questions
09/02/15 at 13:23:15

I am a new member here.   I'm in St. Louis (Elev 750ft). Thank you for providing this forum. I've already taken advantage of some of the modifications described here. I recently inherited a stock 2007 S40 with only 2300 miles on it.  Unfortunately it sat in a garage with gas in the tank for over four years.   So now I'm trying to bring it back to life.   Here is what I've done so far:

1. New battery.
2. New stock air filter.
3. New stock oil filter and oil change with 10w-40 synth.
4. Raptor petcock and fresh tank of high octane with a dab of sea foam.
5. Cleaned the carb.  However I am a novice at carburetor work. Also I could not get the top screws off the carb so I could not get to the top portion (I need to get an impact driver). I cleaned the rest with gum out and a toothbrush.  It did not look terribly filthy on the inside.
6. Seat raised 1" with #7 stoppers.  
7. Purchased a good condition HD Dyna muffler and clamp but I have not installed it yet.

So now,  here is what is going on with the bike:

1.  It will fire up and will run (I put about 50 miles on it last weekend). However I have to keep the throttle opened a little bit because it will die at idle.  I cranked down the idle screw as far as it will go. However there is still about a quarter to half inch, depending on how warm the bike is,  between the end of the screw and the point where the bike will die.   I drilled out the plug on the idle mix screw and I've been playing with different settings for the mixture but none of those seem to make a difference.  The bike still dies if I don't stay on the throttle.   So that's my issue 1.  Any suggestions?