ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: NEWBIE HELP
Reply #45 - 08/27/15 at 08:04:13

CAPT CRUNCH wrote on 08/27/15 at 07:49:51:
Alright just bought a voltmeter .. I've never used one before. Is any part of the frame a good ground?

any plated surface, not painted is good.
bare metal can be found on the inside of screw threads too.
if you're in doubt, check with the ohm meter setting on any 2 like contacts.

WWW   IP Logged
CAPT CRUNCH
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #46 - 08/27/15 at 08:18:58

so theres no setting on the voltmeter i got. it just lights up when theres power. I've been trying to find how to videos and struggling to find a good one.

i just grounded to frame and put the voltmeter on powerpoint of starter and hit ignition.... nothing

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #47 - 08/27/15 at 18:27:59

Okay, then do the same thing at the solenoid. See if that dude is getting power. You really need something that gives a readout. Just a
Yes , voltage
No, no voltage
just isn't good enough for troubleshooting.
Harbor Freight, under ten bucks..kinda disposable..I use the Micronta from the eighties for serious stuff , but HF is good enough for hunting around the bike. Alligator clips that plug onto the tips are good and a wire with a clip for an extension if it's too far for the little leads. They give up pretty quick if you wrap around the meter.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
CAPT CRUNCH
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #48 - 08/27/15 at 19:33:00

justin_o_guy2 wrote on 08/27/15 at 18:27:59:
Okay, then do the same thing at the solenoid. See if that dude is getting power. You really need something that gives a readout. Just a
Yes , voltage
No, no voltage
just isn't good enough for troubleshooting.