Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
2003 Savage Cuts out at speed (Read 94 times)
Net
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

2003 Savage Cuts out at speed
07/29/15 at 10:50:02

I'm new to riding a bike so I am probably the problem. The problem I am having is I cannot maintain a cruising speed of 55-60 mph or coast to a stop without the bike cutting out. If I am accelerating its great but when I level out the bike just shuts off.  I have taken this bike to the mechanic and have had it serviced, oil change with filter, air filter and had the fuel tank drained and blown out of old gas. The Mechanic says its a good bike in good condition. It ran fine after that but when I put gas in it this problem started up. I put 87 unleaded in it.
I'm having to restart the bike while coasting down the road. Freaked me out the first couple of times.

2003 Savage
20,000 miles
No modifications done (yet)

Any Suggestions?

Net

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: 2003 Savage Cuts out at speed
Reply #1 - 07/29/15 at 10:55:50

STOPS AT IDLE.......You might try bumping your idle speed up a tad......that is an easy fix as the know can be adjusted with your fingers.  If the idle speed is too low it can stall when you close the throttle abruptly.

If it all started soon after a fill up.....I would wonder about the quality of the fuel you bought.  If you carb has a drain screw....I would drain out a bit of fuel and see if that helps.  There might be some water in the carb.

You might also want to drain out that tank and see if some different gas solves the problem.

DIES AT STEADY SPEED.....That one is a bit tougher.  If it all started right after that new tank of fuel, I would sure wonder about the fuel.  The bike runs fine on 87 octane....as long as the fuel is good and not old or tainted with water.

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
Net
YaBB Newbies