Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
What to expect in cold weather? (Read 312 times)
SianLogic
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

What to expect in cold weather?
11/10/09 at 12:23:23

Hello All,

I went out for ice cream in 45-50F temps and the entire ride, both ways (about 15 mins each way with 20-30 mins break in between) I had to have the choke on.  a Five minute freeway jaunt was a part of this ride.  At idle if I cancelled the choke, the engine would die immediately.  I didn't try cancelling the choke while in motion.  Is this to be expected or is there something that needs to be addressed?

Stock 2009 Boulevard with 200mi.  No service done.  Using Chevron Supreme gas.

Thanks!

SianLogic

IP Logged
Routy
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Winston Oregon
Re: What to expect in cold weather?
Reply #1 - 11/10/09 at 12:52:02

I'm new to this bike as well, but if it was mine, and being under warranty, I would speed up the idle till it idled. If that wouldn't do it, then I think I would have to take it to the dealer shop to fix it. I know, thats scary,....but hopefully they wouldn't screw it up too bad. Roll Eyes

Rich
'07 S40 Blvd stocker, except drilled OEM exhaust and white spacer mod...1/2 (.055)
  IP Logged
photojoe FSO
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

I did warn you to
brace yourself

New Jersey
Reply #2 - 11/10/09 at 13:04:01

I don't know, it sounds like something is going on that shouldn't be at only 45F. As Routy said, bumping up the idle would be a good place to start and is simple enough.

I ride year round here in NJ as long as it's not snowing. My bike is an older '87, and my winter routine is to fire it up with full choke. Bring it to 1/2 in 10-15 seconds, then all the way in and start using the throttle for a few minutes. My bike love the cold weather.