Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5
Send Topic Print
Backfiring Engine!!!!!!!!!!!! (Read 32 times)
still
Ex Member

Backfiring Engine!!!!!!!!!!!!
08/18/05 at 11:03:11

I have recently purchased a 1986 Savage that is completely stock! This is my first time with/on a bike! The bike has less than 3,500 miles. Purchased from a very good friend who bought it from the original owner. My friend has told me everything I know about the bike and well before I thought about buying it from him, he complained about the tremendously LOUD Shocked  backfire everytime he turned off the engine. I am not mechanically enclined at all! My friend was told from other gear heads that this is something that this single cylinder engine had a tendancy to do. Is this true? If not, what do I need to do to have it fixed and keep the neighborhood from thinking they are being bombed!!!!!!
P.S. Thanks for the great site!

IP Logged
Savage_Rob
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Mechanically
Inclined Amateur

Texas (Dallas area)
Re: Backfiring Engine!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply #1 - 08/18/05 at 11:13:30

Welcome to the world of Savage owners.  You have to leave beer and peanuts out for the elves to come and fix it.  If that doesn't work, try doing a search on this site and be sure to set the way-back setting to something more than the default of 7 days... try 500 and the number of hits to something higher too because this topic has been discussed a lot.  If you still have questions after reading all of this stuff, please repost.

Rob

1998|MAC muffler|ceramic coated header|K&N air filter|Amal Mk2 carb|Odyssey battery|iridium plug|NC windshield|Dunlop 491s|Superbrace|EBC brake rotor|12.5" Progressive shocks|Kuryakyn ISO grips
Savage_Rob RidingTX   IP Logged
Richard Amirault

Reply #2 - 08/18/05 at 11:46:18

Welcome ... when I started riding my 04 I had the same problem ... but I was shutting down by hitting the "kill switch" on the right handlebar.