Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Darkside on 15" rims -- Danger, Will Robinson (Read 469 times)
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Darkside on 15" rims -- Danger, Will Robi
Reply #30 - 05/26/18 at 04:13:54

Job wrote on 05/25/18 at 21:44:17:
I do not know how you guys are getting the mileage you are getting. I have been riding bikes for 55 years and I admit I tend to ride it like I stole it. I ride in the San Juan mountains of Colorado and I love to ride the curves fast. I am hoping that I can finally get 2 years of riding out of a car tire. Jeff

That pretty much tells the story.......I am in the same situation and I only get 6,000 mile out of a tire.

I think I am only getting about 4,000 miles out of the front Bridgestone BT-45s on both the Ninja and my Cafe' bike.  (I won't buy them again as the little square tread blocks wear too quickly when you corner aggressively).  The rear tires will likely last twice as long as the front! Shocked

The Michelin Commander is a hard "cruiser" tire, and what it gains in long mileage it loses in wet weather traction.

I have ridden with Badwolf, and he obtains his high mileage numbers by being kind to his tires.  He does not punish them in the corners like I do, and he accelerates and brakes calmly - his tires and motorcycle appreciate his kindness and in return they will last a long time.

It has also been my experience that if you take a tire to the mountains that is nearing the end of it's tread life and is more than 5 years old and the afternoon temperatures are up around 90 - you can wear it out in 2 days!  My wife and I went to Suches last year and I thought I could get the rest of the summer out of the tire.....but in two days the tread was gone and the back of the motorcycle was covered in black rubber shavings! (We did have a lot of fun wearing it out!).