Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Another Noob with a tuning question.... (Read 169 times)
RustinPeace
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com

Upstate NY - Albany area
Another Noob with a tuning question....
09/07/17 at 13:49:59

Hello All-

I'm a noob and a Savage fan here in upstate NY posting for the first time. Been riding for about a year. Initially on a Honda Cm400 that died (long story). So, now I'm riding the LS650 I bought a few months ago from someone who had it a little while and claimed no issues and up til now it has been fine.

Been reading this site ALOT, but I've hit a wall and wondering how to proceed.

What I have:
1999 LS650P
Raptor Petcock
11,000 miles
3rd owner.

Ran very well when I got it and had no issues except for some sputter or "tug"-like feeling around 60-65mph. Came and went and I don't mind since the speed limit around here pretty much maxes out at 55 and I'm too green for highways.

What I did:
Tried to upgrade to the dyna muffler the previous owner threw in with the sale.
Went on well enough, but got some backfire and low end sputter. So, in researching here I tried a few of the suggested mods to work it out.

It now has:
2/3rd white spacer
55 pilot (up from the 52.5)
152.5 Main (up from the 145)
(Also tested out a 150 Main)

Getting a lot of sputter and backfire.
I tried different jet combos and the final one above worked best initially, but started sputtering and backfiring really bad after about an hour.
I put in fresh gas, I changed the air filter, the header bolts are tight, I put in a new header gasket and theres no leaks I can tell from the exhaust. I cleaned out the carb during the first rejet attempt,  its clean to the best of my knowledge and as I said before it was running well before I changed the muffler.