Send Topic Print
frozen rotor bolt (Read 264 times)
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

South of Chicago, the suburbs
frozen rotor bolt
03/23/15 at 21:24:24

Hey gang,
Pulling the front rotor off to swap to my new wheel. Got 3 of the 4 bolts off but actually shattered my 6mm allen wrench on the last one. I've soaked the bolt with PB Blaster and tapped it a few times to get the harmonics going through it. Tried it tonight but it isn't budging. I'm worried about snapping the bolt off. Is it possible to put a "little" heat on the threads to expand it a little or would it make the metal too brittle/soft? Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks!
Jeff

Yeah, like I have any clue what is going on....
http://myrycabuild.weebly.com
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: frozen rotor bolt
Reply #1 - 03/23/15 at 21:34:34

don't apply any more force then that little wrench can stand or you'll twist off the head.

I'd say heat.  wait till someone tells you how.

WWW   IP Logged
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

Reply #2 - 03/23/15 at 23:20:29

Hence the reason I'm asking. Cheesy I have time, so if it needs a bit of time for penetrating oil to soak in, no problem. Any advice is appreciated!
Jeff

IP Logged
FDM
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

North Shore MA
Reply #3 - 03/24/15 at 04:12:37