mpescatori
Serious Thumper

Romanum Thumperium
Cavalco, yeaaah !!!

Rome, Italy
Re: The Ukraine
Reply #45 - 03/19/14 at 11:38:50

raydawg wrote on 03/19/14 at 04:00:52:
I wonder if the people of southern California, given your observation mpescatori of how people migrate to a local, if given the chance, democracy-wise, would vote to break away from the northern parts and the union itself and return to Mexico..... of course La Raza needs no vote, yet. It might seem far fetched to many, but goggle La Raza and see for yourself the desire by the radical members to get back what was once theirs.....
People of the USA are very ignorant, as you report, to many elements of the rest of the world, and how it works. When coupled with arrogance, it can become a dangerous mindset.....

That's a rather raw way of putting it.

Please bear in mind I studied 3rd-8th grade in the US and when I returned back "home" (I really really felt like "a stranger in my own home")
I realized all I had been studying was somehow confined between the Atlantic Coast and the Mississippi River,
except for Social Studies when we "miraculously" did a fast forward and learned about WW1.
Even then, it was "uh, Yoo-ropeans were battling it out and they sunk the Lusitania so we went in and helped the English and we won, hooray!"
Kinda limited way of telling it.

Indeed, in most cowboy films there's always some odd reference to "the Armenian Jew with a rugbag";
Funny, Armenians are among the most ancient Christians around and there's precious few Jews in Armenia at all!
And... nobody knew where Armenia was, I had to look it up in the encyclopiedia to find out - but only because my curiosity egged me to.

I finally saw the animation with the "border shift", unfortunately it's really really too fast, and often the borders appear to shift when it's really just a new dynasty taking over.