Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Dr. Ben Carson (Read 228 times)
LostArtist
Ex Member

Re: Dr. Ben Carson
Reply #30 - 02/27/13 at 17:27:55

Jerry Eichenberger wrote on 02/21/13 at 08:36:28:
Why did the thread get hijacked by JOG to talk about guns again when I started it to talk about Dr. Carson?

that's what he does, be happy it was guns and not abortion

IP Logged
LostArtist
Ex Member

Reply #31 - 02/27/13 at 17:37:53

arteacher wrote on 02/27/13 at 16:28:15:
One of my pet peeves is that colleges and universities keep grinding out qualified people for whom there are no jobs. So you finish university with no job prospects in your field, wind up in retail or a fast food joint, with $10,000 of student loans to pay off.

$10,000??? try $25,000 - $50,000 or more.

I got an art degree and was VERY lucky to land a graphic artist position, starting at more than minimum wage but not real money or anything, then I went back to school to get more educated in web design and digital technology and I had two choices, spend $30-$40K on another BA degree but with updated choices or spend $15K on a graduate degree that would more or less teach me the same thing, I shoulda changed direction  all together and did something more akin to computer programming, but I didn't, I did the master's degree, it's helping me get attention and interviews but with no real world experience it's still really hard to land a job.  the problem with my master's degree is that it's too well rounded, I know a little about marketing, a little about computer programming, a little about project management and a concentration in graphic design which I now know is worthless. so I messed up again, I can still advance and get a better job, but it's going to be a hard trip, I've been looking for a year now, I've had maybe 20 interviews, no offers yet, hopefully that changes this  week.  I'm not expecting it though. when those loans come due I'm going to be hurting, I'll make it, but ouch.