Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Looking For Replacement Battery+Delimma (Read 208 times)
Wake51

Murphy's Law

St. Louis
Looking For Replacement Battery+Delimma
01/20/12 at 00:33:56

I'm a college student who takes advantage of some neighboring friends in a nearby apartment complex who own a garage. They generously allow me to keep myself and my roommate's bike in there for a low monthly fee to help pay the garage rent.

In December I left for winter break. I left my trusted friend and owner of the garage with the key to my bike. I told him, "Hey, if you get the urge to ride the beauty, go ahead, keep the battery charged, blow out the carbon, make sure the gas doesn't go bad." I handed over the key thinking I was doing a good thing for my little 2 wheeled lady.

Well my roommate left for break after me and they both took a turn on my bike before he left. He noticed that when my trusted friend would put my bike away, he had trouble finding the 'off' position and kept placing the key in the parking light position.

I live in Missouri, and it is indeed cold here, granted the average temp has been somewhere in the low to mid 30s. I get a message about 3 weeks into break, saying that my battery is completely dead, won't take a charge, shoulda put it on a tender, sorry bud. When I left it was in full operating condition. I'm just curious if semi-cold weather can cause a battery to go from working to flat out dead in a matter of a couple of weeks.

Fear not, I'm not charging the friend the replacement costs of the battery, as I'm unsure of its age, accidents happen, and he's doing me a favor with his cheap garage rates. However, I would like to discover what killed the battery, be it my over confidence that it didn't need a tender for 1 month of leave or if it was the accident of the care taker.