Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
clutch repair (Read 13 times)
sean franchi

clutch repair
10/19/05 at 07:08:00

How hard is a clutch job to do?
I did an oil change with non synthetic but clutch is still slipping. also recently noticed a small leak where the clutch arm comes out of the case ( you can actually watch the arm "pulse in and out" as engine thumps.
how much and where can i get the special tool for the clutch job?
thanks
franch

IP Logged
jbrough7
Ex Member

Re: clutch repair
Reply #1 - 10/19/05 at 08:56:43

sorry, bud - I have no idea - I'm kinda new to the whole bike thing; the clutch must be out in the open, I would think, right?  Have you tried one of those Haynes manuals?

IP Logged
bentwheel
Serious Thumper
2005 No Login

Ride free, citizen

Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reply #2 - 10/19/05 at 08:59:42

Fixing a slipping clutch is not too hard of a job. Your clutch is slipping for one or a combination of the following  problems. The friction plates become worn; the steel plates overheat and warp or the springs are weak. I have a slipping clutch as well and if you want, I can take pictures of the process when I take mine apart in a month or so.
The clutch arm rides in a seal in the clutch cover and replacement will stop the leak. When you remove the clutch cover, simply pry out the old seal and press in a new one.
You can take apart the clutch without the need for a special tool. The tool is used to hold the clutch basket from spinning when removing the large nut. There are a couple of ways to get around this. Put the transmission in gear and apply the rear brake when wrenching the nut, or put a penny, or a rag between the meshing gears on the clutch assy and drive gear to hold them from spinning. You can easily make your own special tool by using an old steel clutch plate and welding a handle onto it.
How old is your Savage and how many miles are on it?

Bentwheel FSO
2006 Suzuki 650 V-Strom