Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Send Topic Print
Overweight Beginner on an S40? (Read 431 times)
Wild1OR
YaBB Newbies

Whaddaya got?

Oregon
Overweight Beginner on an S40?
08/21/20 at 20:30:48

Hello, I'm a beginner rider that's 5'11" and 400 lbs. I'm working on losing weight and the need to post this question is one more reason. I wish to find a balance between a motorcycle with lower wet weight and cc for a beginner and higher weight capacity for my size.

I've been comparing specifications and learned that the Boulevard S40's wet weight is 381 lbs and the maximum weight capacity is 404 lbs. It seems the bike, especially with its appearance, checks the boxes if it'll adequately support me.

I've read online of heavy riders setting the suspension to 5 for maximum spring preload and riding without issue. I'm curious if my weight being at the maximum capacity, still makes it a viable option?

I appreciate in advance your comments.

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Overweight Beginner on an S40?
Reply #1 - 08/21/20 at 21:14:47

We've seen some Big Hombres ride them. It'll DO it,,Suspension upgrades are out there and some of these guys can spout them off, I cant. There are forward controls out there to let you get your feet out farther,,
Im thinkin about a dirt bike,, cuz Im just Not gonna straight up exercise,,

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
Wild1OR
YaBB Newbies

Whaddaya got?

Oregon
Reply #2 - 08/21/20 at 21:33:31

justin_o_guy2 wrote on 08/21/20 at 21:14:47:
We've seen some Big Hombres ride them. It'll DO it,,Suspension upgrades are out there and some of these guys can spout them off, I cant. There are forward controls out there to let you get your feet out farther,,
Im thinkin about a dirt bike,, cuz Im just Not gonna straight up exercise,,