YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Weight of front axle?
Reply #30 - 10/09/19 at 10:43:26

It's important to leave large as possible radii where possible at the change in diameter.
This will reduce the likelihood of fatigue fractures.

WWW   IP Logged
stewmills
Serious Thumper

Imagination is more
important than
knowledge

Auburn, AL
Reply #31 - 10/09/19 at 11:42:48

I am not an engineer and this is a very crude comparison, but when I was making saddlebag hard mount brackets for my bags I first used 1" aluminum strapping (home depot stuff). I had to bend the aluminum at 90 degree bends. After mounting and grabbing the bags and bending them back and forth here and there to get them perfectly straight, I noticed the "cracked" look in the bends and realized it looked basically like the metal essentially tore apart instead of bend.

Did the same exercise with steel strapping and steel is still good after a couple of years and me constantly bending the bags/steel brackets up and down from where they get pushed in.

No, I did not use spaceship grade aluminum and no I did not anneal the aluminum, etc.  My point is, I would be more afraid of the aluminum starting to "tear" and fracture over time versus the steel as you aren't going to be annealing the aluminum each time it wants to flex and come back to give its strength back.

Like I said...I am no engineer and know little to nothing about the different alloys and such, just my two cents based on my kindergarten experience bending cheap aluminum.

2008 | 152/52.5–Air Mix 3/4 | Rotella T4 | Seat Lift w/Sheepskin | Speedo Rattle | Rear Pulley Shim | 140/90-15 Rear | Kaw Front Pulley | Relocated Rear Signals

FREEDOM ISN'T FREE!
  IP Logged
zevenenergie
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

The Netherlands   Den Haag
Reply #32 - 10/09/19 at 14:07:11

A little while ago I made a clutch housing from 7075 aluminium to replace a standard cast iron specimen.