Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Rewiring issue : no turn signals, bike won't start (Read 152 times)
Mosbi
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Rewiring issue : no turn signals, bike won't start
05/24/19 at 12:24:40

Hi everyone,

So, as I said in an earlier topic, I'm a newbie with a ls 650 bobber project in mind.
First thing I wanted to do was to relocate the rectifier to the front near the battery box, so basically I just cut the orange wire (the one going to the ignition switch), the negative wire (going to the license plate light and right rear turn signal) and soldered these wires back to a location closer to the battery box (had enough of the red wire to avoid cutting it).

Unfortunately, after connecting the battery again, everything seemed to work except for all the turn signals. Bike won't start either, everything just shuts off directly after I press the starter button (-> I know, why would I even wanna try that, I guess I'm not smart).

Things I tried :
- I went back and relocated the wires where they were originally, same issue (did not try to start the bike this time though).
- I took down the whole wire harness and checked with a multimeter that my soldering was ok, which it apparently is
- Checked the two 20A fuses, they seem ok to me

If anyone has an idea, I'll gladly hear what you'll say !

Thanks a lot

Mosbi

IP Logged
batman
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

osceola new york
Re: Rewiring issue : no turn signals, bike won't s
Reply #1 - 05/24/19 at 21:29:28

I'd take another look at the ignition switch wires , power in is the red wire , which feeds all the  power to start the bike, and sends it out the orange wire , to the entire bike , after starting the regulator  sends power to the battery for charging and also feeds into the Orange wire after the key switch, to feed the bike. the orange wire also branches off to feed the turn signals,   both need to function.