Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Leaking gas after dropping bike (Read 107 times)
daphil
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Leaking gas after dropping bike
03/25/19 at 16:17:06

Hi! It's my first time posting here.  Thanks for having me!

So, I had to lay it down today (neglected to put the side stand down before dismounting in the AutoZone parking lot).  When it was on the ground I noticed that some gas was leaking from the gas tank/petcock area.  I picked it up and the fluids stopped flowing.  I didn't notice any significant damage to the bike; I think I slowed it down a fair amount before it hit the ground.  I got on and leaned it way over to the left, but no more gas leaked out.

When I got back I laid it down again (on purpose this time) to see if any gas would leak if it was completely on its side, but none came out.

What gives?  Where did the gas most likely come from?  Is it safe to ride?

As an aside, I was in Autozone in the first place to pick up some new turn signal indicator bulbs (the front left was out).  Ironically, after I dropped the bike, The bulb revived itself.  However, it still does the rapid blink as if to indicate that the bulb is out.  Even after replacing both front bulbs, the left hand side still blinks rapidly when I turn the signal on.  What could be causing this?

Thank you for your help.  This website rocks.

IP Logged
Matchless G11

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Newfoundland NJ
Re: Leaking gas after dropping bike
Reply #1 - 03/25/19 at 16:55:42

Hi Daphil.
Usually gas will leak out of the float bowl on the carburetor , It allows some side to side play for corning, as its name implies there is a float to  keep a certain level. but when you tip the bike over the float may not close all the way and gas will leak out,

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #2 - 03/25/19 at 18:38:24