After glow? (Read 287 times)
DragBikeMike
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Honolulu
Re: After glow?
Reply #15 - 03/31/19 at 11:58:20

I have trouble getting a handle on this "lean runs hot" concept.  Back in the day, when British twins were all the rage, blue pipes were commonplace.  There was even a product, Blueaway, intended to address this common problem.  The go-to explanation for the cause of the dreaded blues was "your mixture is too lean".  I accepted that as gospel.  I'm a little older now and tend to look into things a bit more.

When I attended Airframe & Powerplant school, we were taught that exhaust gas temperature (EGT) was highest at the ideal stoichiometric air/fuel ratio, about 14:1.  That lesson was reinforced when I was in the air force.  I was a reciprocating engine mechanic.  Our training manuals discussed adjusting fuel mixture using EGT and explained how EGT is highest at the ideal air/fuel ratio.

But I also have real world experience with blued pipes, and a stuck valve or two, that seemed to be the result of lean mixtures.

Every time I see a comment on this forum suggesting that someone's air/fuel ratio is lean because the header pipe is blue, I find myself digging around on the internet in search of an answer to this mystery.  I pretty much always come up with the same answer.  The EGT is hottest at stoichiometric, and gets cooler the further you move away from stoichiometric in either direction (lean or rich).  So I figured I would share the best example I found.  It's clear and easy to understand, and has a nice graph included.  I'm not sayin that the blues aren't the result of a lean, or a rich, mixture.  I'm sayin I don't fully understand the phenomenon.  I figured I would share the info and see what shakes out of the bushes.

This is a quote directly from the Aviation Stack Exchange: