Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
RPM's bottom out when going in to 1st gear (Read 345 times)
troyrr
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

RPM's bottom out when going in to 1st gear
07/23/17 at 23:58:01

This might be an easy one for your guys who are more experienced. I'm still new to the whole turning of the wrench thing.

Anyway, I've been working an 1987 LS650 for far too long. Here is what I've got so far.

1. The bike starts up fine and idles perfectly.

2. When I drop it into 1st gear the RPM's drop to almost nothing and the bike eventually shuts down.

3. Carb. Tried 2 and 3 washers on the needle. 52.5 and 150 jet. It runs very rich. 1 turn on the adjustor screw at the moment. Actually, I've tried all the jets I've got in different combinations and I still get the same 1st gear low RPM problem. Cone filter.

4. Exhaust - 18" muffler with a 13" baffle. Stock header.

5. Swapped out the spark plug, just in case.

6. Battery is about a year old and fully charged as of last week.

7. Adjusted the valves with a new feeler gauge from Harbor Freight.

8. I've got a 2nd carb. It may need a gasket. It's next on my To-Do list.

9. I got ahold of a 36mm Mikuni round slide carb. Thought I might try for the upgrade with the UFO, but I wanted to make sure there wasn't something else I've missed. All I have is the carb at the moment.

10. Thought I might have some bad fuel. Ran to the gas station and got some fresh 91 octain.

11. Swapped out the O Ring on the Intake Manifold.

12. Petcock. Bought the Raptor 660. Tested it yesterday. Flows like a river. Bought a 2nd petcock just in case. I haven't installed it yet.

12. Replaced the metal gasket on the header pipe.

13. Heat wrap on the header. I've rechecked the entire exhaust. Can't find any leaks.

I haven't looked at the kickstand switch, but I've read on here that it can be a problem, although I don't think the symptoms are the same as mine.