Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
How did you learn mechanics? (Read 347 times)
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
How did you learn mechanics?
05/14/17 at 11:27:57

Attempting to teach myself mechanics at middle-age often seems overwhelming, and certainly humbling. I'm just curious how you guys learned this stuff?

Did most of you start as teenagers, often times learning from your fathers or other family members - is that a reasonable guess?

Has anyone taught themselves alone, from books (or the internet, as the modern age would have it)?

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
Ruttly
Serious Thumper

Thumpers Rule

Manteca , CA
Re: How did you learn mechanics?
Reply #1 - 05/14/17 at 12:17:40

Started with bicycles then first mini bike at 12 then motorcycles at 15 and now I'm a diesel mecanik for the last 26 years.
Lots of info here and very talented people to help, so don't hesitate to ask questions that's why we are all here !

The Topic Terminator
  IP Logged
IslandRoad
Serious Thumper

It doesn't vibrate,
it purrs!

The Kiewa Valley, Australia
Reply #2 - 05/14/17 at 12:58:03

Andy, I've also started to learn about engines and mechanical work with my first bike at age 47. It IS daunting!

I've discovered a few things over the last few months: you gotta have  some decent tools ( I buy then as I need them), ya need a place to work ( i don't have a great place to work but it's something at least), and ya need to be patient.

It would also be great to have a bike to work on that isn't your daily ride so you can lay it up for a while, and also keep riding. I'm working on that one!