New and frustrated (Read 325 times)
JeepCreeper86
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Newb; Be Gentle.

Orange Grove, Tx
New and frustrated
05/28/16 at 14:58:44

Hey guys, bought a 2001 from a buddy for $300 and it was in pieces since 2007. Ive got the bike back together and cleaned up pretty good but i have a few issues; such as: cant go faster than 45-50 mph (no power if i go past 1/3 - 1/2 throttle regardless of gear) and ive been searching and reading this site so that i wouldnt have to make a topic just so that someone would link me to the answer.

Sorry if i missed it but is there a way to tune the carb jets from the outside of the carb? Or do i have to sit there and take the thing apart, turn the jet a bit, reassemble and keep repeating until it sounds right? I get the concept of the tuning, and the order, but the application is what is throwing me for a loop. Im pretty mechanically inclined but im a rookie when it comes to carbs. Thanks for any help/info provided. (I order the raptor petcock today, btw)

Mostly Stock 2001 LS650P. Did away with my airbox and used 2 inch pvc and an aftermarket large air filter. Previous owner chopped off the tailpipe just behind the footpeg.
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: New and frustrated
Reply #1 - 05/28/16 at 15:24:31

Did you have the cam off?
if you didn't time it right, it won't go over 55.

to change the jets, you just need to take the bowl off.

but your' whole problem maybe a dirty carb.

WWW   IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Reply #2 - 05/28/16 at 15:29:31

JeepCreeper86 wrote on 05/28/16 at 14:58:44:
... is there a way to tune the carb jets from the outside of the carb? Or do i have to sit there and take the thing apart, turn the jet a bit, reassemble and keep repeating until it sounds right? )

You don't actually "adjust" the jets... you replace them.