Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Won't rev over 3000 rpm and misfires (Read 152 times)
Bjarras
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Won't rev over 3000 rpm and misfires
10/19/15 at 12:41:31

Hello guys,

I'm new to both this forum and also as a Savage owner.
My name is Björn, lives in Gothenburg Sweden and English is not my native tounge but i'll d my best to be understood  Shocked

I just bought this bike as an Project. The bike had an broken Engine and was quite dismantled. Luckily, my friend had an running Engine to spare so the last couple of days now I've been puting them together.
But i've run in to some Engine trouble;

The Engine only revs to about 3000 rpm and it sounds like it's misfireing.
it will not get past these 3000 rpm.
The old bike that had this Engine had the same problems and different CDI:s, sparkplugs, petcocks, ignition coils and carburetor has been tested without it being solved.

As I see it, there is only 2 reasons left that I can Think of.

First is the valves (intake/exhaust). Perhaps they needs to be adjusted.

Second is the ignition. Is it possible to adjust the advance/retard on the ignition maualy? I can't find anything about this in my Clymer manual.
Or can the ignition plate only sit in one way and the CDI will do the adjustment automaticly?

Or am I missing something obviuos?

Also worth to mention is that the bowl vent hoses on the carburetor is not attached. But as I have understood it shouldn't matter.

// B

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Won't rev over 3000 rpm and misfires
Reply #1 - 10/19/15 at 13:12:14

Welcome B,

There are a few things that will limit the engine to 3000 rpms, air, fuel, electrical and mechanical... did I leave anything out?   Grin

Mechanical, if the cam has been off, possibly it wasn't timed right when it was put back in.