Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Uncle Sam has decided to audit me! (Read 108 times)
Rylee

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Long Beach California
Uncle Sam has decided to audit me!
08/29/15 at 09:37:39

So a month ago I decided I was going to go back to school. Visited LA Trade Techs admissions department and got the ball rolling. Did all the financial aid paperwork, signed up for admissions and got all my papers taken care of. Week later got a letter of acceptance, had to go back to the campus to finish financial aid and sign up for classes.
Got a letter saying I was able to get the full amount of financial aid offered since I didn't use it years ago when I went to college. And I'm a 40 year old father, head of household and veteran.

On a side note
I've been welding for probably 15 years. I'm proficient in mig, pretty good at stick but I'm only so so at tig. I wanted to go do a certification course and get some tig training. And honestly get taught in a classroom setting. I learned how to weld from an old timer so I learned doing the tricks not actually using the proper techniques.

Everything checked out and I start class on Monday. Super excited to be in school again and looking forward to getting certified as a welder.

Then...
I checked the mail yesterday and low and behold, a super thick envelope from the IRS. Guess it seems giving me all that aid made them wanna look deeper. I've been asked to prove head of household, earned income credit and child credit. All of which I can do so I'm not super worried. Just bugs me that for the past 7 years I've claimed all of these with no question. And now all of a sudden I ask the government to give me some of that back so I can better myself and they wanna probe me. Thanks Uncle Sam for taking thousands from me every year in the name of better infrastructure but when I ask for a few bucks back you wanna make it out like ive cheated you!

96 Bobber
  IP Logged
raydawg