Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
RYCA CS-1 Speedometer Cable (Read 148 times)
Holly
YaBB Newbies

'03 SV650, '08
S40/RYCA

Seattle, WA
RYCA CS-1 Speedometer Cable
03/18/15 at 16:41:25

So I've been putting this issue off for 2 years now but I kinda miss the odometer feature of the speedo so it's back on the agenda.

About 2 months into the CS-1 riding adventure the speedo cable decided to break right where it goes into the engine.  I pulled out the pin, screwed the outer casing back on and have been riding it that way since.

I thought I'd routed the cable along the frame sufficiently to allow it to freely spin in the casing but apparently not.  And that being the case, I have about 6" too much cable (from the RYCA kit).

Any suggestions/pictures on how to route 40" on this tiny frame? I've also been looking into a custom cable instead - recommendations there?

As always, thanks for the input.

Loving the CS-1. Great to see more builds popping up!

IP Logged
Gary_in_NJ
Serious Thumper

LS650 Cafe Racer

Amongst the Twisty Roads
Re: RYCA CS-1 Speedometer Cable
Reply #1 - 03/18/15 at 17:15:24

My speedo cable seems be just the right length. I didn't measure it but I wonder if RYCA made an adjustment to the length.

Notwithstanding, you could easily loose some of that length by routing it  from the right side behind the headlight and then down the left side of the frame, past the carb and then back to the right side.

Is the cable now broken?

A life-time student of motorcycling.
LS650 Cafe, DRZ400SM, FZ6N, SV650S, CB900C, Ducati ST2, CB550F-SS
My LS650=> http://suzukisavage.com/yabb2.2/Attachments/Left.JPG
  IP Logged
Kenny G
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com The
Singles Club...LOL

Robson Ranch, Denton, Texas
Reply #2 - 03/18/15 at 17:28:23

Holly,

I am interested in doing the Ryca Speedometer soon and the only thing slowing me down has been reading about the speedometer cable being too long.