Send Topic Print
valve stems (Read 207 times)
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

South of Chicago, the suburbs
valve stems
02/28/15 at 14:22:42

Hey gang,
What do you think of these? Got my Ryca boxes yesterday and need to install the tires first but thought these valve stems looked pretty neat. (Silver ones) Had a few good reviews. I'm running the 18" Ryca wheels and tubeless Heidenau 4.00-18 tires.
http://www.motorcycleanchor.com/tire_valves/index.htm
Jeff

Yeah, like I have any clue what is going on....
http://myrycabuild.weebly.com
  IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: valve stems
Reply #1 - 02/28/15 at 14:53:43

They aren't necessary on an 18" wheel....you have plenty of room for a tire inflator and gauge.  They would help on the 15" rear wheel that was originally on the bike.

And although they probably don't weigh much....the valve stem side is already the heavy side of the rim most of the time.

And....it looks too much like "bling" for me to use it.

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

Reply #2 - 02/28/15 at 18:30:40

They said it was lighter than a stock rubber valve and I thought it might go along with my hand-sanded hubs and chrome rim. Still need to make sure I mount the tires without marring the rims.
Jeff

IP Logged
v-pilot

Loud bikes rule!

Rexford NY
Reply #3 - 02/28/15 at 18:45:08

Those are not for use with rims that require inner tubes

Suzuki DR650, aprilia RSVR, aprilia Falco, Bimota DB4(2x)
Moto Guzzi V10, Ducati 900ss, Triumph Trident, Suzuki LS650
Moto Guzzi Le Mans SE(2x), Moto Guzzi V50, Benelli 250, Ducati 250
  IP Logged
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

Reply #4 - 02/28/15 at 19:18:42

My tires are tubeless. Smiley
Jeff

IP Logged
bobert_FSO

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Wichita KS
Reply #5 - 02/28/15 at 19:30:46