Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Project: Skinny Pete (Read 304 times)
mjbgman
YaBB Newbies

Syracuse, NY
Project: Skinny Pete
02/15/15 at 16:11:02

So I'm finally getting around to posting my bobber build.  I purchased Pete in '09 for $750, rode him for a season, and then began the tear-down over the winter of 2010.  I tore the bike down and rebuilt the engine over the winter, then lost interest and threw all the parts in a box and let them sit.  

Then, in the fall of 2012, after getting married and moving, I started working on Pete again, slowly but surely.  By spring of 2013, I had a running bike!!!  

This is my first build and I'm happy with the way it turned out.  Enjoy...

Skinny Pete as he sits today:

Day 1 & $750 lighter:

After a quick paint job and tune up:

Rode it like this for a season before the "Big Tear Down":

Mock up with my Northern Tool trailer fender:

Frame horns cut and new seat mount welded on:

Fender support/luggage rack fabbed up:

Another mock up:

Rebuild time!!!

Shocks, who needs shocks?

Underside of rear fender/tail light wiring:

Rear fender/tail light:

License plate bracket:

So then I apparently got tired of taking pictures.  So fast forward to a complete Pete:

And 120 miles later:

Soooo...maybe I missed a bolt on the engine rebuild and spun a bearing.  I'm looking for a crankcase and then it's time for engine rebuild #2...yay.

Hopefully I will be riding in a few months...

Guns don't kill people, Chuck Norris Kills People.
  IP Logged
nof1
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: Project: Skinny Pete
Reply #1 - 02/15/15 at 16:47:37

Sweet, then Sad.  Sounds like a date I had once.  Hope you get it up and running again in time for spring

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Reply #2 - 02/15/15 at 17:21:36

I like the rack... the curve on the rear fender is nice too...
Wink...

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!