Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 4 
Send Topic Print
Cheap GPS unit for your handlebars .... (Read 472 times)
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Re: Cheap good GPS unit for your handlebars .... N
Reply #45 - 05/25/17 at 23:35:08

BalingWire wrote on 07/16/14 at 19:34:20:
Nearly any tablet can be modified for navigational purposes Cheesy

Hahaha. Good one!

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
Oldfeller--FSO
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Hobby is now
"concentrated
neuropany"

Fayetteville, NC
Re: Cheap GPS unit for your handlebars ....
Reply #46 - 05/26/17 at 08:11:56

Update to this thread:

Google maps now supports downloading about two-three state's worth of "on device" fully interactive maps.

You do this at a sit down eatery with wifi, a MickyD's or a Hardees will do in a pinch.  Once the map is on/inside the device, start Google maps and ask for directions to your end point.  Actually start the route up, then carry the phone out to the handle bars, plug up the power cord, ear buds etc and put your helmet on and go.   Don't turn it off or you lose everything.

YOU HAVE TO START IT ALL UP UNDER CELL TOWER DATA ..... that's the trick.

You will now get map and verbal directions even if you leave an area directly supported by cell towers -- sometimes your device will stop and stutter forward suddenly as you just hit a tower zone and got better data for a little bit and it "stuttered you forward".  

Not to worry if you seem to have quit for a little bit, moving into the next cell tower area will generally get you back going again.   This is all working better and better as Google works the "tower hand off bugs" out of their new system.

Former Savage Owner
  IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #47 - 05/26/17 at 08:50:16

This may be a bit "off topic"..not sure.