Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
swapping one clutch for another, help me.... (Read 329 times)
wickedbiker

Riding a Wicked
Savage Custom

Tampa Bay, FL.
swapping one clutch for another, help me....
05/05/14 at 19:06:23

Hey guys,
I have noticed I am just about out of clutch on the used 98 engine I recently bought in place of the blown engine that was origianaly on the bike. The blown engine was a 2000 what I'm wondering is how to swap out the clutch or I saw in another thread somewhere where guys were adding clutch plates or something. I am completely new to this, but basically good with mechanics.
Is there something I can do and if so can you either guide me to a step-by-step or explain..... I have never even seen the inside of the clutch on the bike. Undecided

That's the main topic, but if you think of it is there anything else I might want to swap from the better engine. Other than the completely melted piston of course. Or anything in the top end at all probably. But everything looked pretty good other than the what was left of the piston 2 1" melted peices And the rest looked like aluminum gravel all throughout the engine.

« Last Edit: 05/06/14 at 04:29:35 by wickedbiker »  
WWW   IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: swapping one clutch for another, help me....
Reply #1 - 05/05/14 at 19:32:28

clutches rarely wear out... you probably just need a new throwout rod.

WWW   IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #2 - 05/06/14 at 03:14:25

Instead of telling us what is wrong.....tell us what the symptoms are.  Is your clutch slipping?  Is the the clutch lever out of adjustment?  Is the lever on the side of the engine within the range of the indicator marks?

http://suzukisavage.com/cgi-bin/YaBB.pl?num=1397956793

http://suzukisavage.com/cgi-bin/YaBB.pl?num=1270678838/0#0