Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Shafted by the mainshaft!? How bad? (Read 97 times)
Klobchar
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Shafted by the mainshaft!? How bad?
01/17/14 at 16:40:27

Ok. So I bought my '95 halfway through last season. I decided (stupid) to rock out with it the remainder of the season before doing a whole lot to it. Season ended. I am a manager at a CNC shop doing mostly aerospace work, so I decided to take it to my shop. After reading most of the post in this forum, I knew the mods I wanted to execute. I ripped it down to the frame and ordered a boat load of new parts....the fun began. I pulled clutch cover and noticed at 24000 miles I got lucky by a few thousandths. I machined a new cam chain tensioner. Turned out great. (If anyone's interested, I suggest you contact Versey....I don't step on toes). Plugged vacuum and opted for the raptor 660 petcock. K&N Cone filter. Deletion of airbox, and in the midst of making a multi chamber compartment to fit nicely in frame while housing the juice box and wires...perhaps a little stash spot as well Wink and at the same time keeping the side covers (Maybe...I might machine my own style side covers). I used the stock seats....however I ripped about 40% of the foam out and replaced it with gel...then covered them with the saddleman covers. I rebuilt the carb. I bubble gummed it together because I deleted the Jardine pipe with a reverse megaphone.....not that it wasnt running lean to began with. I also got the rattlesnake ceramic wrap for the header. bought new battery. new spark plug. retimed valves. pulled head off and fixed the river of oil coming from the bolt plug. Seat mod. bought fork boots. bought aftermarket turn signals. bought aftermarket headlight. bought aftermarket grips. bought aftermarket pegs. bought aftermarket levers. bought new brakes. Bought VHT primer and VHT paint. Ok ok ok.....you get the idea right? I am sure there is more