Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Help! My Savage refuses to start! (Read 572 times)
keith
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: Help! My Savage refuses to start!
Reply #30 - 06/27/13 at 22:50:06

If your mechanic put it together wrong and misdiagnosed the failure, he should reimburse you the cost of the starter he replaced.  I am a car mechanic and that kind of crap would never fly.  It is a pain to get them to do it, but it is the right thing to do.  Good luck.

IP Logged
i2iot
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #31 - 08/09/15 at 13:27:01

Hey everybody!  I've been lurking on the forum for a year now and have found it immensely helpful!!  I loaned my 07 Boulevard to my meth-head brother for a few months and had to pick up up last week when he went to start a long stretch in jail.  

Aside from having been laid over, a foot-peg replaced with a piece of steel, and some new scratches and dings... it wouldn't start and the problem I was having is 100% like this old thread.  He spray-painted the left cover and I don't think it worked after that based on the brand new oil change.

When trying to start it it just made a clicking sound.  I replaced the battery, tested the solenoid, and cleaned and tested the starter per the manual with a voltmeter.  It sounds like the starter is not engaging.

I verified the gear connected to the starter WILL spin in one direction.  According to this post a washer or some "clip" (not pictured in the Clymer manual) could be causing this issue.  

Can someone tell me if anything looks wrong here?

2015-08-09_15_10_50.jpg
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #32 - 08/09/15 at 13:39:10

yes, washer on wrong gear, s/b like this...

WWW   IP Logged
i2iot
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #33 - 09/18/15 at 16:59:40