Send Topic Print
How to get more power. (Read 162 times)
CountryBoy
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

How to get more power.
10/09/11 at 20:03:43

Hey guys, I bought a 2001 Savage back in July and have fallen in love with this little bike.  It is a perfect size for me and definately looks very sharp, but I am looking to bob it this winter to make it really stand out and was hoping to make some power upgrades while I have it torn apart.  I'm a college student, so I don't have a ton of cash, but what can I do to get some reasonable gains?  I have done some tinkering already, such as taking off the crash bars, windsheild and stock muffler, and I also had to rebuild the carb about a month ago.  I now have it straight piped, so I know that can affect the way the carb will need to be tuned.  I was also wondering if I could change the size of the sprocket on the rear axel or the tire size to get more distance from the same RPM's.  I think the motor has enough torque, but y'all are the experts.  Any information would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks

P.S. If anyone wants to see what "The Spitfire" looks like I will be glad to post some photos, just ask.

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: How to get more power.
Reply #1 - 10/09/11 at 21:17:20

Best bang for the buck?  new carb
Next? new cam

I have this little hill I take daily
usually I get 85 with stock engine and a supertrapp
add to that a performance carb and you're doing 95

see the link below and follow it to more horses.

WWW   IP Logged
MrBrownTX

Caddo Mills TX
Reply #2 - 10/10/11 at 08:38:09

Is there any specific performance carb that is an excellent match for this bike?

Used to have 2006 S40 http://suzukisavage.com/cgi-bin/YaBB.pl?num=1331666008/0
Gear up like you are going to slide across the pavement. Ride like everyone else is trying to kill you
WWW   IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be