Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
K&N air filter (Read 157 times)
MeLikeBike

Newbie, but Goodie

Monroeville, PA
K&N air filter
09/17/11 at 09:04:46

In a mad rush to buy parts to service a new old bike (2003 Savage), I shopped online for a new air filter, and ended picking up a K&N air filter (the drop in replacement...nothing custom).  I'd used them in my car in the past with no trouble, and a maintenance book that I read (Mark Zimmerman) highly recommends them.

Anywho...I am rapidly learning about this bike from the forum and about motorcycles in general (I'm a complete newbie), and browsing the petcock issues page, I wonder if I should just go ahead and put an EMGO filter in instead, because I read things about needing to rejet the carb and whatnot, and that's way past my skill or comfort level that this point.

Am I making a mistake or taking a risk putting the K&N in?  Is there something I should watch/listen out for?

thanks!

2003 Savage LS650, Dyna, 2/3 Spacer
  IP Logged
Routy
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Winston Oregon
Re: K&N air filter
Reply #1 - 09/17/11 at 09:29:05

If I thought that the K&N breathed that much free'r that I had to rejet, I wouldn't want it on my bike.
Besides that, if it was to make any difference, it would be at WOT only. The second you back off to crusing speeds, you're using only a fraction of the air used at full throttle. I'd say you're good to go w/o jetting.

Rich
'07 S40 Blvd stocker, except drilled OEM exhaust and white spacer mod...1/2 (.055)
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 09/17/11 at 09:38:16

I didn't notice it being much different, but I had already rejetted to 150.

I say try it, and if it runs lousy you can always put the stock one back in.

and to confirm it's too lean, pull the choke out one notch.  you don't want to run that way, but good diagnostic.

WWW   IP Logged
arteacher
Serious Thumper

Ride as if your