drums1
Serious Thumper

'87 Savage
Bashed--Down for the
count

Racine, Wisconsin
Re: oil level in window
Reply #90 - 11/02/10 at 21:23:09

OF, I bear no flowers. I am not a newbie. I don't put on thousands and thousands and thousands of miles every month, but I am not a newbie. In fact, after nearly 3 years on the bike, I rather resent being refered to as one. I have never come close to dumping the bike while checking the oil. ( It's called "balance" ) I check mine while on 1 knee, holding the bike vertical by the seat. ( No beer in the other hand ) Does that look silly? I dunno. No one has ever told me it does. I am not necessarily on Bills side. It just seems that you go WAY overboard making a simple point. Am I a participant? I dunno. Am I?
The kevlar boxers are intact.

Smiley Smiley Smiley

IP Logged
Oldfeller--FSO
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Hobby is now
"concentrated
neuropany"

Fayetteville, NC
Reply #91 - 11/02/10 at 23:22:56

No flowers?   No BEER?

At least you get down on one knee and hug your bike while checking her oil, that's something to help keep her happy.

Grin        grin, it's a joke son

Ah, OK -- here comes my feeble attempt to get serious at 2:15 in the morning
                                        (Wednesday AM).    

Best I can do, anyway.

Yes -- you certainly can do the Suzuki Method, we have all done it and we all know how.   And according to the poll, very few bikes have tried to get away from us while doing it.

And your method of going down on one knee makes more sense than doing the Roadrunner, as lots of folks have a hard time SEEING the window level much less easily judging it on the first try doing the Roadrunner method.

So, if the only thing that your method means is getting a knee dusty if you are off on a trip, that is not a unrecoverable price to pay for a easier way to get the job done.