Send Topic Print
new savage owner (Read 202 times)
RTC

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

El Paso, TX (Ft. Bliss)
new savage owner
02/28/10 at 22:29:07

i just purchased my first motorcycle, which, after much research, happened to be a savage. It's a 2002 with only 900 miles. Is there anything, as far as maintainence that I should get to right away besides an oil change? the tires are good and as far as i can tell everthing else aesthetically is good. Like I said, I'm new to this and I would like to keep this thing running good as long as possible. anything I should look out for?

IP Logged
RTC

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

El Paso, TX (Ft. Bliss)
Re: new savage owner
Reply #1 - 02/28/10 at 22:42:37

btw, i have some bluing of the exhaust in the first section at the bend. anyone know what i can do to remove and remedt this? i tried searching the forum but no luck. thanks

IP Logged
JESPOKER4FUN
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Henderson, NV
Reply #2 - 02/28/10 at 22:56:57

You can use Blue away or Blue job.
I used Blue away and it worked great.
If the bike was sitting for a long time, you should at least change the engine oil.
Other than that make sure you inspect both tires for cracks in the sidewalls and the tread.
Happy riding to you.

IP Logged
babyhog
Serious Thumper

Find a Cure for
Breast Cancer!
 NOW!!

WV
Reply #3 - 03/01/10 at 06:00:51

Here's a current thread going on about tires, if you haven't seen it.  Check those tires!  Not many miles on them, but they've been sitting for a while.  http://suzukisavage.com/cgi-bin/YaBB.pl?num=1267297871

~ 2006 Black, Big Crank battery, HD Softail muffler, engine guard/o-ring pegs, Spitfite windshield, custom mounted Saddlemen bags, Mustang seat! ~ oh, and Hairdo by Helmet! ~
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #4 - 03/01/10 at 11:45:54