Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
New Owner & Member (Read 69 times)
genejohnson

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

New Owner & Member
04/25/09 at 16:41:11

Just purchased an 86 Ls650 today. ($350) Will get it Monday. It comes with an extra engine, extra rear wheel,extra rear fender, and a set of forward controls. It appears to be complete. Only problems apparent are no key/ignition switch, therefore no gas cap key and it is locked.
  Is there a copy of the schematic floating around anywhere that I could gander at and try to figure the ignition out. The gas cap can be drilled out I guess.
  I am not new to bikes. I have been riding one thing or the other since the 50's. But... I am new to the Savage so I'll be asking a lot of questions, I'm sure. Gene

IP Logged
Wolf

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: New Owner & Member
Reply #1 - 04/25/09 at 16:51:26

Welcome genejohnson!  New here myself... a '99 Ls650 with upgrades soon to arrive  ... yeah!!  Browse the forums and threads, on this one there is a Table of Contents above and a "free fiche" thread. Besides the Clymers manual and the Savage CD (offered here), there is a wealth of information, many with pictures.  In the marketplace you will find the "used parts - for sale or need.    hehe

Wolf  Cheesy

IP Logged
matt_savage

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Reply #2 - 04/25/09 at 19:46:39

No ignition switch shouldn't be too big of a problem.  Pretty sure you can pick up a generic one and it'll wire in just fine.  The gas cap might be tricky, think some people have successfully picked it and had it re-keyed to match the ignition.  Do a little research and search over in the Rubber Side Down thread.  Also check out the links in the Table of Contents Sticky Thread over in the Tech. section, just about any topic is covered there.  HTH

-Matt

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #3 - 04/25/09 at 21:44:02