Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
not sure where to look (Read 226 times)
oksavage

not sure where to look
08/26/08 at 18:22:04

I had been having intermittent problems with backfiring and choppy acceleration while driving.  Also bike tries to die at stop signs when warmed up.  I have cleaned the carb and petcork, checked the vac line for gas etc.  Still getting the weird lurches.  It is an 86 with a 155 main and a 47.5 pilot and a jardine slip on.  Could this be sticky valves??  Also, I'm new to bike riding so I know I occasionally over rev before shifting and it is hard to know what gear to be in around town.  Last night I got it home and cranked down on the throttle it it revved up and then started to backfire repeatedly.  It sounded almost as if I was twisting the throttle repeatedly but I was not.  Where do I keep looking??

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: not sure where to look
Reply #1 - 08/26/08 at 18:29:26

I know you said you checked it,...but it sounds very much like the vac line is leaking gas.
If not that, I'd check the slide in the carb...could be sticking...

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
oksavage

Reply #2 - 08/26/08 at 18:35:30

I don't mean to be dumb but where is the slide???

IP Logged
Sandy Koocanusa
Serious Thumper

Don't blame me.
 I didn't vote
for him.

Bigfork, MT
Reply #3 - 08/26/08 at 18:37:29

On my '87, I had to go up to a #50 pilot in order to get in range for tuning.  The 47.5 just wouldn't do the trick after I started screwing with the exhaust.  It would backfire every time I changed the throttle position.  Others will disagree, but I say make sure you get the non-bleed type jet if you rejet the carb.  I didn't do that the first time, and lost about 10 mpg over night with the bleed type jet.