Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Oil Type (Read 159 times)
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Oil Type
07/20/07 at 20:38:45

I'm adding oil to my 98 Savage and don't remember what type I had put in at the last oil change.  I'm going with the thought that I'll be safe with 10W-40.  Do I need it to be "motorcycle" 10W-40?  Or is regular 10W-40 good enough?

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
Savage_Rob
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Mechanically
Inclined Amateur

Texas (Dallas area)
Re: Oil Type
Reply #1 - 07/20/07 at 20:44:39

I personally prefer 15w50 or 20w50 because of the hot climate in TX but 10w40 is in the specs.  The specifications are in your owner's manual.  I use motorcycle specific oil but you can use others as long as they meet the specs in the manual.  Definitely stay away from anything with friction modifiers or anti-wear additives if it's not motorcycle specific and says it's safe for wet clutch applications.  This seems already destined to be a rehash of several existing threads on "which oil do I/you use?" but there you go.  I am currently using Mobil 1 V-Twin 20w50 pure synthetic and plan to stick with pure synthetics similar to it.

1998|MAC muffler|ceramic coated header|K&N air filter|Amal Mk2 carb|Odyssey battery|iridium plug|NC windshield|Dunlop 491s|Superbrace|EBC brake rotor|12.5" Progressive shocks|Kuryakyn ISO grips
Savage_Rob RidingTX   IP Logged
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Reply #2 - 07/20/07 at 20:46:19

I've got a suzuki 4-cycle motorcycle engine oil (SP-4A) 10W-40.  I'm assuming this is okay??

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
smokey02

Time flies like an
arrow, fruit flies
like bananas

Alta Loma, California
Reply #3 - 07/20/07 at 20:49:18

Look for oil in the 'SEARCH' function