Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 
Send Topic Print
Do we need a better cam chain? (Read 329 times)
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Do we need a better cam chain?
Reply #120 - 08/16/07 at 09:33:25

I would've cause I'm a US engineer with a machinist background.

unfortunately, It's written by Japanise tech writer who thinks digital mic's are not available to mechanics.  And I think how many times I've read that the measurement was made with a ruler I think that's a correct assumption.

When I'm in a measuring mood, I carry digital mic.  And never a pocket protector.  I've actually seen more pocket protectors in the pockets of machinists.

WWW   IP Logged
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Don't go around your
ass to reach your
elbow...

SW Washington State
Reply #121 - 08/16/07 at 09:36:41

verslagen1 wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:08:
Well if you want to get really picky... dig thru all the posts and you might find that someone concluded that 127mm = equals a new chain before oldfeller.  I only sighted the most current reference as empirical proof of theoretical fact.   Tongue

I didn't necessarily "dig" through the other posts...heck, I had to resurrect the topic from page 3 anyway.  So, I merely scanned them.  Yet, this subject isn't really where I was going with this.

But while we're theorizing, have you figured out exactly what causes the problem with the tensioner?  That is what I'm pursuing...obviously, the chain and gear have been eliminated.

...to which I see that you state that "we are dealing with a complex system of steel and plastic"

Come on...it ain't too complex for a nit pickin' engineer, is it?

Tongue

IP Logged
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Don't go around your
ass to reach your
elbow...

SW Washington State
Reply #122 - 08/16/07 at 09:38:54