Send Topic Print
Screwed (Read 8 times)
Thump05
YaBB Newbies

2005 S 40 Boulevard

Mt. Vernon, IL
Screwed
06/12/07 at 20:26:38

Ok I admit I laid my 2005 S 40 down. I am still a beginner rider. But at least I was not hurt except my pride. After waiting a week for a new rh tail light, the only other thing that got broken, it finally arrived today. All excited to get riding again, I proceded in trying to remove, seemed to be a simple operation, the broken rh tail light. What the #$@*& do they put those screws in with? I believe they must be welded or glued. I got the correct size phillips type screw head and could not budge the thing. And even though I had good contact and the correct size, the screw head started to tear apart like cheap pot metal.  Angry

So I went to Sears and purchased a good quality stripped screw remover aI tried tapping it with a hammer and heating it with a soldering iron. And all it did was continue to tear the screw head apart without loosening it abit. Anyone else had this problem? I have not removed my seat yet because the hex head in the rear is also very tight and I do not wish to tear it up. I guess I go to a machine shop and pay more money. I hope the rest of the bike does not turn out to be so cheap.

Thump05
  IP Logged
Fido_the_Cat

" If you don't
ask, They can't say
no!"

Harrisburg PA
Re: Screwed
Reply #1 - 06/12/07 at 20:48:38

Thump05 wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:06:
.... like cheap pot metal.

Interesting...
What screw are you having trouble with, you don't say. You have a fairly new ride so I don't think it's rust or corrosion. Have you used any type of penetrating oil ( Careful some will ruin the paint)? It's not a reverse thread so that can't be it. Please don't take this any other way than the way it is meant. What are you using for tools? Cheap tools will always fail or foul at the worst time.  From your interesting comment I take it you are familiar with cheap quality.