Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
I need help with a rod knock.... (Read 28 times)
Lil Em
YaBB Newbies
2005 No Login

I bleed orange!

Riverdale, Utah
I need help with a rod knock....
07/29/05 at 18:52:39

I'm new to my 97' Savage. We just changed the plug and did a valve adjustment. Now we think we here a rod knock. How do we determine that it is? Is it worth taking it in and having someone check it? How much does it cost for a rebuild? Should I stop riding it?

I know, I know lots of questions. Remember I'm a newbie and need ya'lls help.

Thanks.

Riverdale Utah
1997 Suzuki Savage
http://www.bikepics.com/members/lilx11/
WWW   IP Logged
Dynobob
Serious Thumper

2003 LS650 (with
Supertrapp)

Northern Virginia
Re: I need help with a rod knock....
Reply #1 - 07/29/05 at 19:42:42

Lil Em wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:07:
We just changed the plug and did a valve adjustment. Now we think we here a rod knock.

I doubt you have a rod knock unless the bike's been run low on oil. It sounds like the valve adjustment wasn't done correctly and you're hearing the valves. There are detailed instructions on this board about adjusting the valves.

IP Logged
slavy
Serious Thumper

smart cars for
stupid people

Phoenix, Arizona
Reply #2 - 07/29/05 at 19:48:08

So far I have not heard of a bad crank shaft in a Savage. The crank has needle bearing and is extremely hard to destroy. The first thought is a bad cam chain- very common problem. If I am correct the chain is about $90 from the dealer. When You change the chain, You will need the clutch cover gasket and it will be a good idea to R&R the famous plug, so You don't have oil leak in the future. Also make sure the cam chain tentioner is alll there. You don't have to remove the head and it is not very hard to do, but if You don't have any expirience- better let somebody who knows what is he doing to do it.

The arificial intelligence is no match for the natural stupidity