Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Hello again. (Read 2 times)
Karen627
Ex Member

Hello again.
05/10/05 at 20:13:02

Just wanted to drop in and say hi.  I posted once before, back in March, asking about the Willie and Max regular slant (as opposed to the compact slant).  Thanks again for the advice -- I got 'em, and yeah, they're a bit big -- but they fit, so I'm happy.  

Anyway.  I'm new to riding -- got my S40 in February, took the MSF class in March, and I'm slowly but surely getting the hang of it.  And thanks this forum, I'm not surprised by the backfiring.   Grin  Just one question, though -- does it hurt the bike to leave it like that, rather than doing the whole screw/spacer etc. thing?

Also, I've noticed the lack of aftermarket accessories for the Savage/S40 (the J&P Cycles metric catalog lists just about every bike except this one).  Is there another bike whose accessories fit the S40?

IP Logged
babbalou
Serious Thumper

Lewisville, Texas
Re: Hello again.
Reply #1 - 05/10/05 at 20:21:05

It doesn't hurt it to leave the carb alone. Yes, it seems the market doesn't know we exist, which is odd given that the bike has been around since 1986. I usually end up doing Google searches for parts. J.C Whitney sends me their catalog which has NOTHING specifically for the Savage but carries stuff for new models.   Undecided

Had an S40 Jul '04-Jan '07
WWW   IP Logged
bobo383
Serious Thumper
2004 No Login

Neck=Red

Arlington, TX
Reply #2 - 05/10/05 at 20:21:56

It won't hurt a thing to let it keep on talking.  I fooled around and cured by Savage's backfires in my quest for more performance, but it don't hurt a thing to keep it stock.

I'm not real big on store-bought accessories, so I can't answer the other question.  I do like to fabricate stuff, though.  I've been accused of greater-than-average redneckness.

Arlington Texas
Used to have 98 & 88 Savages
  IP Logged
diesel
2004 No Login

Watsontown, PA