Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Delete gas tank stickers (Read 11 times)
Nightrain
Ex Member

Delete gas tank stickers
04/18/05 at 09:42:00

Finally got around to deleating those pesky gas tank stickers under the clear. The process wasn't that bad at all. I used the girlfriends hairdryer and a  few of those plastic, disposable spoons. Took about an hour to do both sides. looks sooooo much better. I was thinking of sanding down the tiny ridge of clearcoat with some 600 grit and the trying to cover the spot with some rattle can clear. Does anyone know if a rattlecan clear will be o.k. for the factory paint & clear?

thanks

IP Logged
sluggo
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

big singles lead,
twins follow the
pack

moses lake washington
Re: Delete gas tank stickers
Reply #1 - 04/18/05 at 10:11:55

i did the same thing and was not satisfied with the results, but, i'm not that good at that type of work.

with the purple color of mine the line is barely noticacble.

SINGLES RULE, HARLEYS DROOL

IP Logged
Nightrain
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 04/18/05 at 11:24:32

You were not satisfied with the removal of the sitckers or the re-clearcoating of the tank? If you tell me that doing a rattlecan clearcoat is defianately going to look like sh*t, then I wont do it. I can easily live with the small white line.  Grin

IP Logged
Savage_Rob
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Mechanically
Inclined Amateur

Texas (Dallas area)
Reply #3 - 04/18/05 at 11:28:11

I didn't use sandpaper or rubbing compound to feather the edges of mine but I added new decals and then rattlecan clearcoat and I think it came out okay.  You can still see the lines from the old decals but less than before and there is a slight orange peel to the clearcoat but it's not bad.  I may do another couple of coats then rub it down.  However, right now I'm more concerned with the bolt broken off in the cylinder head so the tank will have to wait.