Roadie

No, it's not a
Harley.

Lansing MI
Savage - First Ride
06/05/04 at 17:24:44

Roll Eyes
Hello,

I've lurked in this bulleting board for some time now and decided I'd post something once I had something to contribute.

Well let me say I'm a newbie out in the world of motorcycling.  I've ridden four wheelers and a crappy dirt bike, but nothing road worthy.  I bought my cycle in early may when the weather here in Michigan just started to break.  It was in the paper for $2800 obo with low miles.  I took a friend who is a "bike guy" having owned over 10 cycles I figured he knew what was good and what was crap in the used market.  I had set my sights on the Savage because of the good things I've read on various sites and the lower maintenance (ahem, all things need maintenance!).  I originally wanted a Buell Blast but after reading some posts that it was almost impossible to keep a good running engine due to its placement in the frame.  

Anyways I did a once over on the bike (a good read is the used bike buying guide that's available on the net).  It had only 1400 miles on it (now 1410, yeah I know that's alot of circles around the lot! Ahem, more on that later).  I had my friend take it for a ride as he has his endorsement and his comment was that is was a torquey little *itch.  He's a big guy (so am I) and drives a Bandit sport bike, so that's quite a complement.  Needless to say the silver and chrome kept saying "take me home!"  Not to mention the tires still had their new tire nubs on them.  Obviously the first owner just got his wheels under him and the Harley Upgrade put the Savage in the corner of the garage.  (And  $2550 later it was on the way to my home.)