Gary_in_NJ
Serious Thumper

LS650 Cafe Racer

Amongst the Twisty Roads
Re: Rotella as fork oil?
Reply #90 - 02/12/16 at 09:15:22

Gary_in_NJ wrote on 02/12/16 at 09:15:04:
cheapnewb24 wrote on 02/12/16 at 08:58:20:
Are you seriously going to trust oil manufacturers and bike accessory companies and dealerships, which are commonly called stealerships to always have the absolute best product that can be made at the very best price?

Yes, I am. Since you have decided to use Bel-Ray as an example, I will tell you that I have been using their products since the mid 1970's. They have an outstanding reputation in the motorcycle industry because their products do what they say they will do. Their support of the industry is unparalleled. You need to separate the business practices of a dealer (stealership) from that of an established company with a well earned reputation.

I'm not an engineer.

This is obvious to everyone.

Are you an engineer? Is that why you're sore at me?

I have a degree in aerospace engineering. I'm not "sore" at you. I'm just amazed how someone who knows nothing has convinced himself that they are now an expert because they mixed a few ounces of fluid together.  

Bel-Ray fork oil is not necessarily bad, it just won't work well at extreme temps (provided the figures are correct.)

Can you share YOUR data on this subject?

Perhaps the oil's low VI is due to its behavior at high temps, not low ones? Maybe it doesn't get thick so bad as it gets thin? Maybe it's just a summer oil, and that's the end of it.

Maybe, just maybe, you don't have a clue as to what you think you know.

You need to stop making gods out of these industry people. Call 'em as you see 'em. After all I did make some degree of disclaimer by admitting the possibility for missing information or miscalculation, so don't get your panties in a knot.