Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Things every savage newb should know... (Read 9423 times)
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Things every savage newb should know...
Reply #30 - 08/25/20 at 16:56:46

Have someone follow you away from a stop.
My daughter was wringing the Savage out, I was following on the guzzi,, She hit second and nailed it,, The plate was zinging left and right so hard there was no way to read it,

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
KLM
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Sacramento, CA
Reply #31 - 05/05/21 at 14:45:31

As a Savage newb myself I thought it might be helpful to note that:

The Phillips screws on this bike aren't really Phillips but JIS.  

Something I learned after stripping most of the carb screws on my 93 Yamaha Seca II

I picked up this guy: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00E55DL4I/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s...

Worked really well on my 86 Savage carb and other screws.  

To the mod's.  Hope it's ok I added this as a newb myself.  I did some searching and only found JIS mentioned in one thread.

86 Basket Case 23,000 miles
  IP Logged
Michael Moore
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #32 - Yesterday at 10:58:05

I've just purchased a 1997 LS650.  I'm sure other people besides me would be interested to know what the consensus is on engine gaskets:  should I stick with OEM or are there reputable aftermarket brands at better prices?  

I've had the experience with other bikes of buying aftermarket/pattern gaskets that were pretty useless, either a poor fit or poor material.  But the OEMs usually buy-in things like gaskets and it is quite possible that an aftermarket gasket might be made by an OEM supplier.