Send Topic Print
MSF BRC This Weekend (Read 38 times)
SCS40

Riding again after a
19 year hiatus

Easley, SC
MSF BRC This Weekend
06/20/21 at 19:21:04

My older daughter (19 next month) has wanted a street bike since before she could drive. My ex and I hoped she'd outgrow this. She didn't. After a Dean's List freshman year of college, and securing funding, saying "no" was very difficult.

Not to mention other factors such as already having a helmet (from our autocrossing), purchasing her own gear (jacket, pants, gloves, boots), and finding a pretty cool CBR 250 with ABS.

The only catch was she enroll in a MSF course. She agreed.

I've wanted to take this course for decades even though I started riding in elementary school. I planned to take it with her but sadly it was full. Especially sad was the fact it's both Father's Day weekend AND my birthday (Monday). I found out tonight one student left the course today without completion. Bah.

Anyway, she (and most kids now) didn't grow up as I did. Just about EVERY kid in my neighborhood had something...a mini bike, go kart, dirt bike...one even had a 3 wheeler. Girls AND boys.

Two weeks (or so) ago was the first time she ever tried to ride a bike. She's only ridden as a passenger a handful of times. She asked me to teach her, as I taught her to drive a car, autox, and a manual. So of course I tried.

But then it struck me: how exactly do you teach someone to ride?

Luckily my improvisation worked well enough and she was soon riding (no throttle) around a parking lot. Honestly, I was thankful she was taking the course as things get a bit more involved in traffic.

The vid is a clip of the first exercise after lunch, day 1 of the range.

https://youtu.be/5x3QiifMHv0

She passed the riding and written test today and simply has to present the waiver to DMV for her license. Smiley