Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Carb Issue or Something Else? (Read 112 times)
Aerodynamic
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Carb Issue or Something Else?
04/14/21 at 12:42:09

I'm a complete amateur at repair and not much better at riding, so I'll do my best to describe the issues as accurately and detailed as possible. Hoping to get help on diagnosis before moving on to repair. It's a 2002 model, bought it in May 2019.

Engine Issues:

- Will lose power during operation. Engine/thrust will start sputtering unevenly before the bike dies and I'm free rolling down the road/highway.

- Difficulty starting the bike at times, even in relatively warm weather. Need to give it some throttle but it'll die back down once throttle is off.

- Bad gas mileage, and needs to be refilled before the tank is even half empty. Switching between PRI, Reserve, and ON does nothing to alleviate the problem.

- Lots of backfiring, especially when I turn off the engine. Tends to be one loud bang.

- Apparently 5th gear doesn't work anymore

I've been told it's most likely the carbs that need cleaning or even syncing, potentially the spark plugs and air filter as well.

Other problems:

- Gear shifter gets stuck sometimes. Like you need to stomp it before it changes, usually from 2nd down to 1st.

- Speedometer & odometer stopped working. I noticed the cable got disconnected from the front axle. Reattaching it did nothing.

Thanks in advance veteran riders.

IP Logged
ohiomoto
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

WTF is JOG?
Re: Carb Issue or Something Else?
Reply #1 - 04/14/21 at 16:32:06

The speedometer on a stock bike doesn't attach at the front wheel.  Is this bike modified?

The shift lever linkage is most likely bent.  If you keep stomping on it with will break and you'll be riding home in first or second gear.  You might be able to see it from underneath the bike.  Replace it.