Send Topic Print
gas leak (Read 81 times)
brasils40
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

gas leak
09/05/20 at 15:11:25

Hi everyone newbie here, I recently installed a carb rebuild kit on my  2012 s40. I reisnstalled carb and noticed gas coming from looks like vent tubes below seat. The jets I replaced are the 2 on bottom bowl and the one that goes to the float and the two from top bowl and the needle jet on diapharm. any ideas. could the jet on the float cause this if it is the wrong size? not sure but it looked a little smaller that the original.  thanks

IP Logged
ohiomoto
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

WTF is JOG?
Re: gas leak
Reply #1 - 09/06/20 at 05:48:56

Fuel overflow is usually caused by the float needle being stuck.  Sometimes you can tap the carb and it will unstick the needle.

The jets should be numbered and you should know exactly what you are installing.  Oftentimes these rebuild kits just have some random jets that will fit, but are not correctly sized for the bike it's being used on.  It's always best to reuse or replace the stock jets with the same ones unless you are performance tuning the bike.  The stock jetting is going to work reasonably well for most people and you won't see any huge gains from jetting. If you have some mild performance issues or if your bike is heavily modified,  you would be making small adjustments based on the stock jetting.

Lastly, If your carb is overflowing, you will need to check your oil level to make sure you don't have gas in you oil.  You don't want to ride the bike with gas in the lower end.

Was you bike running before you installed this "kit"?  Were you having any issues?  

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Reply #2 - 09/06/20 at 10:44:47

If you have the stock petcock,.. is set it on "Prime"?...
If not, your pet is bad.
Get a Yamaha 650 Raptor petcock. (See the Tech section for details)