Send Topic Print
Sparkplug question (Read 171 times)
srinath
Serious Thumper

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Sparkplug question
06/11/20 at 05:50:56

I was a mechanic on a bike years ago and I was having a lot of trouble getting it to start easy on the stock spark plug. I had to use a lower heat range plug. It was jetted perfectly fine BTW.

Now My son's bike has one of those new fangled across the thing electrode etc - something VIX is the model of the plug - and since he's riding it in my yard and barely gets it warm enough - I think its fouling out rather easily and often.

Does that type of plug - I need to get its make/model number to post as well - but does it foul out easier ? And a lower heat range plug is a better option here ? Or any other ideas.

Cool.
Srinath.

IP Logged
Gary_in_NJ
Serious Thumper

LS650 Cafe Racer

Amongst the Twisty Roads
Re: Sparkplug question
Reply #1 - 06/11/20 at 06:34:11

Some more info would be helpful. What kind of bike is it? What is the condition of the air filter? Are there any mods to the bike. What does riding in the back yard mean. Are we talking about a space that is 50’ x 100’, or 15 acres?  What is your son’s riding experience and style?

A life-time student of motorcycling.
LS650 Cafe, DRZ400SM, FZ6N, SV650S, CB900C, Ducati ST2, CB550F-SS
My LS650=> http://suzukisavage.com/yabb2.2/Attachments/Left.JPG
  IP Logged
srinath
Serious Thumper

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Reply #2 - 06/11/20 at 06:42:28

Savage 98 model, kiddo has no experience except on a bicycle, its a 50' diameter circle around 3 trees. Basically the motor is on the verge of stalling all along and last time it ran, he forgot to take the choke off. In fact most of the time it is cold when he starts it, tepid when he rides it and barely warm when he gives up.

All stock bike with clean filter and no mods - not even pipe or lighteing or my favorite - drag bars.